Skip to content

Cali Girl in the DMV #2

August 10, 2009

Days 3-6 have been all about exploring. I am usually really great at figuring out a place in the few days, but I have to admit, manuevering around the NOVA area is going to be just a tad more difficult than learning my way around Seoul, Korea. Who knew? Today on a morning coffee run I accidentally took a wrong turn and headed across the river toward D.C. It was absolutely beautiful!  All of the buildings and the people walking around going on about their Sunday morning business. I really wanted to go into that area of D.C. and explore a little bit since I have never seen it from that vantage point, but I didn’t have time. I will be doing it for sure in the near future.

I also ventured out to the S. Columbia Pike Farmers Market to see what they had to offer. This one was very small and I have the feeling that it has not been around for too long. I am sure when the area has fully undergone a complete revitalization, the Farmer’s Market will be awesome. I am just optimistic like that.

On Saturday, I went to McLean Virginia to check out what was going on there. They have a really good mall called, Tyson’s Corner. Just about any store that you would find in any major city is there. I met this extremely funny, extremely charming young lady named Kerri who works at West Elm, a furniture store. She was helpful with ideas for places to go in DC for decorating and art and the like. She is also a transplant from Vermont who really seems to enjoy the area, and she assured me that I would as well. It was a pleasure meeting her, she was a ray of sunshine.

The overall area seemed a little more suburban and relatively more upscale than Arlington. But who really knows if that is true? I went there primarily to see the different stores there and what that area had to offer, but I couldn’t help but notice the biggest thing there as well as in Arlington, the diversity when it comes to the people. If there is actually such a thing as a melting pot, the NOVA area is it.

The area that I live in is definitely hopping at night. There is a second run movie theater and Drafthouse on one corner and lots of restaruants and shops all around. I have notice that the tow trucks are very tow happy. There were at least 8 cars towed just last night. After midnight, a lady’s car was being towed and the alarm was going off. She managed to run out and stop the guy from taking it. I just thought, “Boy, was she lucky.”  There are lots of sounds and things to look out and see at night. The traffic, and people walking, and waiting for buses are all really interesting to me since I have primarily lived in the suburbs for most of my adult life. In many ways, it is very calming. Strange, I know.

Mainly for the last few days, I have just been driving around and washing clothes and hanging out in my apartment clubhouse waiting for my furniture to be delivered. Sleeping on the floor is not comfortable at all, and I will definitely pack an Aero Bed the next time I move, I am not 20 anymore. In all, I am enjoying my new surroundings and I can’t wait to really get out and meet people. I would love to have a wonderful social circle of real friends here in the area. Especially because I know that any circle of friends here will be a very diverse one.

Until next time, take care and remember, change can be really good for the soul.

No comments yet

Leave a comment